2021 Liturgical Calendar/Liturgický kalendár
Date Day Description
1-Jan Friday Circumcision of the Lord; Feast of St. Basil the Great
3-Jan Sunday Sunday before Theophany
5-Jan Tuesday Vigil of Theophany
6-Jan Wednesday Theophany of Our Lord - Great Blessing of Water - Blessing of homes
7-Jan Thursday Synaxis of the holy Forerunner, Prophet and Baptist John
10-Jan Sunday Sunday after Theophany
17-Jan Sunday Thirty-third Sunday after Pentecost; Sunday of Zacchaeus; Anthony the Great
24-Jan Sunday Sunday of the Publican and the Pharisee
30-Jan Saturday Feast of the Three Holy Hierarchs: Basil the Great, Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom
31-Jan Sunday Sunday of the Prodigal Son
2-Feb Tuesday Meeting of Our Lord with Simeon and Anna
6-Feb Saturday First All-Souls' Saturday (commemoration of the departed)
7-Feb Sunday Meatfare Sunday
13-Feb Saturday Cheesefare Saturday (commemoration of all holy ascetics)
14-Feb Sunday Cheesefare Sunday
15-Feb - Mar 26   The Great Fast
16-Feb - 21 Feb   First Week of the Great Fast
20-Feb Saturday Commemoration of the miracle of Saint Theodore
21-Feb Sunday First Sunday of the Great Fast (Sunday of Orthodoxy)
22-Feb - 28-Feb   Second Week of the Great Fast
27-Feb Saturday Second All-Souls' Saturday (commemoration of the departed)
28-Feb Sunday Second Sunday of the Great Fast (St. Gregory Palamas)
1-Mar - 7-Mar   Third Week of the Great Fast
6-Mar Saturday Third All-Souls' Saturday (commemoration of the departed)
7-Mar Sunday Third Sunday of the Great Fast (Veneration of the Holy Cross)
8-Mar - 14-Mar   Fourth Week of the Great Fast
9-Mar Tuesday Forty Holy Martyrs of Sebaste
13-Mar Saturday Fourth All-Souls' Saturday (commemoration of the departed)
14-Mar Sunday Fourth Sunday of the Great Fast (St. John Climacus)
15-Mar - 21-Mar   Fifth Week of the Great Fast
18-Mar Thursday Matins of the Great Canon of Repentence of St. Andrew of Crete
20-Mar Saturday Akathistos Saturday
21-Mar Sunday Fifth Sunday of the Great Fast
22-Mar - 26-Mar   Sixth Week of the Great Fast (which ends on Friday)
24-Mar Wednesday Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
25-Mar Thursday Annunciation of the Theotokos and Ever-Virgin Mary
26-Mar Friday Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
27-Mar Saturday Lazarus Saturday
28-Mar Sunday Palm (Flowery) Sunday Blessing of Psalms
29-Mar - 3-Apr   Great and Holy Week
29-Mar Monday Great and Holy Monday
30-Mar Tuesday Great and Holy Tuesday
31-Mar Wednesday Great and Holy Wednesday
1-Apr Thursday Great and Holy Thursday
2-Apr Friday Great and Holy Friday
3-Apr Saturday Great and Holy Saturday
4-Apr Sunday PASCHA: The Resurrection of our Lord, God and Savior, Jesus Christ
5-Apr - 10-Apr Bright Week
11-Apr Sunday Thomas Sunday
18-Apr Sunday Sunday of the Myrrh-bearing Women
23-Apr Friday Great Martyr George the Wonder-worker
25-Apr Sunday Sunday of the Paralytic; feast of the holy Apostle and Evangelist Mark
28-Apr Wednesday Mid-Pentecost
2-May Sunday Sunday of the Samaritan Woman
9-May Sunday Sunday of the Man Born Blind
12-May Wednesday Leave-taking of Pascha
13-May Thursday The Ascension of our Lord, God and Savior Jesus Christ
16-May Sunday Sunday of the Fathers of the First Nicean Council
22-May Saturday Fifth All Souls’ Saturday (commemoration of the departed)
23-May Sunday Pentecost Sunday
29-May Saturday Leave-taking of Pentecost
30-May Sunday Sunday of All Saints
31-May - 28 Jun   The Apostles' Fast
6-Jun Sunday Second Sunday after Pentecost
13-Jun Sunday Third Sunday after Pentecost
20-Jun Sunday Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
24-Jun Thursday Birth of the Holy Prophet, Apostle and Forerunner John
27-Jun Sunday Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
29-Jun Monday The Holy Apostles Ss. Peter and Paul
4-Jul Sunday Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
11-Jul Sunday Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
18-Jul Sunday Eighth Sunday after Pentecost; Fathers of the first six Ecumenical Councils
20-Jul Tuesday Holy Prophet Elijah
25-Jul Sunday Ninth Sunday after Pentecost; Dormition of Saint Anna
1-Aug - 14-Aug Dormition Fast
1-August Sunday Tenth Sunday after Pentecost; Procession of the Holy Cross
6-August Friday The Transfiguration of the Lord
8-August Sunday Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost (and post-festive day of the Transfiguration)
15-August Sunday Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost, and The Dormition of the Mother of God
22-August Sunday Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost, and postfestive day of the Dormition
29-August Saturday The Beheading of the Holy Glorious Prophet, Forerunner, and Baptist John
1-Sep Wednesday Beginning of the Church Year
5-Sep Sunday Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
8-Sep Wednesday Nativity of the Theotokos
12-Sep Sunday Sunday before the Exaltation of the Holy Cross; Leave-taking of the Nativity of the Theotokos
14-Sep Tuesday Exaltation of the Holy Cross
19-Sep Sunday Sunday after the Exaltation of the Holy Cross
20-Sep Monday We start the continuous reading of the Gospel of St. Luke at the Divine Liturgy. This continues until the Great Fast.
26-Sep Sunday Eighteenth Sunday after Pentecost; Dormition of Saint John the Theologian
1-Oct Friday Protection of the Theotokos
3-Oct Sunday Nineteenth Sunday after Pentecost
10-Oct Sunday Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost
17-Oct Sunday Sunday of the Fathers of the Seventh Ecumenical Council
24-Oct Sunday Twenty-second Sunday after Pentecost
26-Oct Tuesday Holy Great-martyr Demetrius
31-Oct Sunday Twenty-third Sunday after Pentecost; Holy Martyr Theodore Romzha, Bishop of Mukachevo
7-Nov Sunday Twenty-fourth Sunday after Pentecost
8-Nov Monday Holy Archangel Michael and all the Angelic Powers
14-Nov Sunday Twenty-fifth Sunday after Pentecost; Holy Apostle Philip
15-Nov - 24-Dec   St. Phillip's Fast
21-Nov Sunday Twenty-sixth Sunday after Pentecost; Entrance of the Mother of God into the Temple
28-Nov Sunday Twenty-seventh Sunday after Pentecost
5-Dec Sunday Twenty-eighth Sunday after Pentecost; Venerable Father Sabbas the Sanctified
6-Dec Monday Holy Father Nicholas, Archbishop of Myra
8-Dec Wednesday Maternity of Holy Anna
12-Dec Sunday Second Sunday before the Nativity (Sunday of the Forefathers); Mother of God of Guadalupe
19-Dec Sunday Sunday before the Nativity (Sunday of the Ancestors)
24-Dec Friday Vigil of the Nativity
25-Dec Saturday Nativity of our Lord, God and Savior Jesus Christ
26-Dec Sunday Sunday after Nativity; The Commemoration of the Relatives of the Lord: Saints Joseph, James and David
27-Dec Monday Holy Apostle and First Martyr Stephen
31-Dec Friday Leave-taking of the Nativity of the Lord